The currency of Slovenia

The currency of Slovenia From 1989 to 1991, the struggle for independence was in full swing in Slovenia. When, finally, it was successful and Yugoslav soldiers left the country, the young state faced many important questions. One of them-what will be the currency of Slovenia? Before that, the official money was Yugoslav dinars. It was decided to issue the national currency — Slovenian Tolar, whose name comes from a large silver coin — Thaler, which was very common in developed countries of Europe in the XVI—XIX centuries. The international currency designation was SIT. 1 Tolar is divided into 100 stotins. Slovenia joined the European Union in 2004. This led to the expected political and economic changes within the country. After 3 years, the country decided to abandon its national currency and switch to the use of the Euro. Thus, the Slovenian Tolar was in circulation for only 16 years.